November IHSW

As mentioned in a previous post, I decided to partake in the International Hermit and Stitch Weekend this past weekend.  To get the full details, click here.

“HERMIE”
Line Art by Heidi Brass
Color Art by Andi Whitmer

Unfortunately, I did not get enough time to stitch this weekend.  Saturday was occupied with laundry and cleaning.  The evening was spent at a friend’s house.  We became acquainted on Facebook; however, my best friend went to high school with her husband, so it wasn’t a complete stranger-ism visit going on here.  Also, turns out that she grew up in the same area that my best friend and I grew up.  She lives right across the street from the swimming pool we used to frequent quite often as children.

Maria had graciously invited us to her place to check out her cross-stitch stash, and let me tell you…it was massive.  I was like a kid in a candy store.  There was so much to look at/rifle through.  She had charts, magazines, books, kits, fabrics, threads, storage compartments, bins, recently opened stashes, etc.  It was truly quite something.  She graciously let me have some of her hand-dyed fabric, which I will definitely be using for my smaller Mirabilia projects.  I can’t wait!  I’m so excited.

After we rifled through her stuff, we had some coffee and tea along with some Portuguese and Maltese pastries and had an awesome time chit chatting and getting to know each other.  I really had a wonderful time.  We promised to make plans to meet up again for a stitching session.

Sunday was really the only time I had a good sit down to focus and stitch away.  I managed to complete a wing on my fairy minus a few stitches.  I had to abandon my project for my personal training session.

Here’s what I had complete before the weekend challenge.  You can see I only had a piece of the top wing (on right hand side) done.

January’s Garnet Fairy
Artwork by Nora Corbett
Design by Mirabilia

This is what I managed to stitch on Sunday.  Had I had more time to stitch, I’m guessing that I would have part of the left upper wing done as well.

IHSW November 2012 stitches

Can’t wait for next month’s round.  Hopefully, I would have completed this one and started on another.

Leave a Reply

