Unexpected Gift

Last weekend, my best friend and I met up with our new stitching friend, Maria (who I mentioned in a previous post).  We met up at her place to rifle through her cross-stitch stash and she was ever so generous in allowing us to choose anything we wanted from her stash.  She was gracious enough to offer up some hand-dyed fabric and all the Mirabilia/Nora Corbett charts she had because she knows those are my favourites.  In addition, she also had a box of magazines set out for us.  This box contained doubles and even triples of magazines she already had.

We had so much fun getting to know her last time, that we decided to get together again.  This time, we were getting some actual stitching done.  I worked on the beading (of course) of my current project.   Maria worked on an Arabic alphabet she was stitching up at a friend’s request.  Maria also helped Nelly get started on her new project, the Toronto Raptors logo.

We chatted while sipping tea and eating biscotti and cake.  Gosh we sound like old souls.  Not really.  We just love to stitch.  We’re not the loud partying type.  I love getting together with friends over dinner or drinks just to chat the night away.  I much prefer it over loud, noisy clubs.

Anyway, the evening ended with an unexpected gift.  Maria gave me and my friend a Christmas goodie bag.  This really came as a surprise.  I did not anticipate that I’d be receiving a gift.  I was so taken aback, between a mouthful of biscotti, that I didn’t know what to say!

My bag contained a Christmas card and two small cross-stitch kits.  My bag also contained an adorable scissor. I know it’s the smallest of things, but this scissor made me so happy.  In case you haven’t guessed or noticed, I tend to adore fairy-type or angel-like designs.  My scissor was  a fairy-like scissor.  I didn’t even know they had these things.

Maria and her husband actually found me a fairy-like scissor!  If that’s not one of the kindest things ever, I don’t know what is.  To think that they picked this out with me in mind after having only meeting me once in person and through some Facebook chatter.  I was so touched.  I can’t even tell you.

Without further ado, here’s a pic of my scissors.  Isn’t she adorable?

 scissor(front) scissor(back)

Thank you so much for the gift, Maria.  I really appreciate it.  😉

Leave a Reply

