The Best Stash of All

During the Christmas holiday, my mother and I visited my aunt.  While we were sitting in the kitchen, munching and talking away, I worked on my PM quilt square.  My aunt noticed the DMC floss I was using and she was reminded of my grandmother’s stash.

If you’ve read the About Me page on this blog, you’ll know that I was inspired to start cross-stitching years ago after admiring my grandmother’s work and talent.

My grandmother was very gifted artistically.  She crocheted, painted, embroidered, and cross-stitched.   She was so artistic that her designs were her own.  During the visit, I learned from my aunt that my grandmother would often decide what she was going to stitch by choosing combinations of floss colours right in the store.

She would sketch out a design on the fabric with tailor’s chalk and work her magic from there.

How I wish I had paid more attention to how she actually created her designs.  I would have loved to have seen her start from scratch.  Sadly, I wasn’t able to spend as much time with my grandmother as I would have liked.  My visits were very limited.  If I was lucky, I got to spend and entire week with her during the summer.

My grandmother meant the world to me.  She really was a special woman.  She always welcomed me with a smile and open arms.  I didn’t ask a lot of my grandmother.  I just enjoyed spending time with her.  I enjoyed sitting on the sofa holding her hand while we watched TV.  I enjoyed brushing through her long hair (when she had long hair) while she watched As The World Turns.  I loved everything she cooked.  Let me tell you, no one could make a can of Campbell’s Mushroom Soup the way she could!

I’ve gotten way off topic here.  Memories of my grandmother will do that to me.  I digress.  Let me get back to the original intention of this post.

My aunt gathered my grandmother’s floss and offered it to me.  She said that she knew I would appreciate it the most and make the most use out of it.  I walked away with a bag full of items.  This is just a bit of what I inherited.

stashpic1

Bunches of colours grouped together by variations of shade.

stashpic2

Bunches of colours grouped together by variations of shade.  I’m almost certain she was using these for embroidering flowers.

stashpic3

Close up of bunches of colours grouped together.  Seeing the way she has these tied with sewing elastics breaks my heart.  To me, it’s evidence that she existed (if that makes sense).  She took the time to bunch her colours and secure them the way it worked best for her.

stashpic4

More bunches of colours grouped together in one of her baskets.

stashpic5

More bunches of colours grouped together.  The greens were most likely used for the stems and leaves on her floral designs.

stashpic6

Cute wood bobbin.  I have never seen one these before.  I’m not sure if this was handmade or if it was purchased in a store.

stashpic7

Homemade cardboard bobbins.  These hug at my heartstrings as well.  You can see that my grandmother also created a slit to hold the tail of the floss.

stashpic8

Close-up of homemade bobbin and my grandmother’s handwriting.

stashpic9

Assortment of needles. They’re all pointy, so I’m assuming they were used for her embroidery projects.

stashpic10

Assorted bobbins in another basket.

13 thoughts on “The Best Stash of All

  1. What a lovely addition to your stash. I love the wood bobbin and the handmade card board ones. Such lovely colored floss so many possibilities.

  2. My Grandma passed suddenly this week. I got a call from my dad & aunt yesterday as they were going through things in her house, saying that they had “hit the mother-load of embroidery floss”. She mostly crocheted, but when I was a baby she cross stitched and embroidered blankets and pillowcases and things like that for my sister and me. I’ll be receiving the “stash” on Monday and I’m planning on using it to make keepsakes for the family. Thank you for this post….I feel like you were talking right to me.

    • I’m sorry to hear about your grandmother. 😦 I’m hoping you have amazing memories such as I do. Please keep me posted on what you adopt from her stash. I’d love to see it.

  3. Oh my goodness! What a a pleasant gift and inheritance! My MIL gave me a box of pearl floss and other stitching odds and ends that were from her mother. The box is an old cardboard Laura Secord box and I love going into it to find floss and then using it in a project in a modern project.

Leave a Reply

