Let the Son Shine

Let the Son Shine by Precious Moments

I will update this page to include the original design only.  The program that I use to snip the single image is on my work computer and I can’t find a free version online.  The design I stitched was the one in the top right corner.

Let the Son Shine

Let the Son Shine
Artwork by Precious Moments
Design by Gloria & Pat

This is a follow up post to my Let the Heaven’s Rejoice post.  If you haven’t read that post, I will fill you in quickly.

I decided to join a Facebook group of cross stitchers that have banded together to stitch in hopes of easing the pain of the affected families.

Each stitcher has committed to stitching a specific number of squares to later be made into a quilt.  The rules are simple:

  • Material is to be 14-ct Aida
  • Colours should be cream, white, or pastels (dark colours should be avoided)
  • Quilt square overall size should be 10×10 or 12×12
  • Stitching should be 7×7 or 9×9

Finished quilt squares will be mailed to a P.O. box where they will be collected and sewn into a quilt.

There is a sign-up page for each student as well as a page for each adult (teacher, social worker, principal) that was affected.  Some stitchers have signed up for all kids, but I opted to sign up for only two.  A boy and a girl.  I didn’t want to promise something I couldn’t deliver.  There is also a sign-up page for a wall school hanging.

For the girl, I chose Catherine.  Something about her fiery hair colour drew me in.  She’s the cutest little girl.  My heart aches for all the children’s parents.

I changed the hair colour on my angel to match hers.  Much like Chase’s angel, I managed to stitch this up in approximately five days.  I didn’t stitch the entire design, because I had to keep my project within the size limit.  I cut out everything that wasn’t part of the angel itself.  I improvised on the clouds as the original clouds worked around some of the items I omitted.

Let the Son Shine

Let the Son Shine Finished Design

Leave a Reply

