Dark Wings

I’m making good on my promise to finally add Dark Wings to my rotation.  (Not that I have a rotation, as I don’t like to stitch more than one project at a time.)

Dark Wings Artwork by Jessica Galbreth Design by Heaven & Earth Designs (HAED)

Dark Wings
Artwork by Jessica Galbreth
Design by Heaven & Earth Designs (HAED)

I’ve set it aside for too long.  I already have three starts on it.  You can read about it here.

This will be my fourth start, and I really want this to be the last.  I’m determined to finish her as it’s my husband’s one and only request.

I went to Gitta’s during my lunch hour yesterday and I picked up, what I think is, the perfect hand-dyed fabric for her.  It’s a bit lighter than how it photographs.

Laguna, 28-ct, Chocolate Swirl

Laguna, 28-ct, Chocolate Swirl

I debated using a different fabric altogether.  I was almost positive that it was the same fabric I used for January’s Garnet Fairy.  I liked this one too and the clerk thought this fabric complimented the design more than the other, so I chose this.

I opted for 28-ct because if I had chosen a lower count, my fabric would have been larger than I would have liked.  I’m going to be stitching this with two threads over one.  I’ve also decided to stitch this as half stitches only as opposed to the full stitch.  I think a full stitch will be too bulky.  Hmm…maybe I can try a patch of full stitches with one thread only and see how that works.

Also, I haven’t decided if I’m going to start from a corner and follow the page numbering system or if I’m going to start in the middle.  I really don’t want to grid my fabric.  I like to jump into my projects full steam ahead.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dark Wings

Leave a Reply

