Gridding

For the next couple of days, I’ll be spending my lunch hours gridding my fabric for my Heaven and Earth Design, Dark Wings.  I followed the guidelines found in this video.

I didn’t buy the Easy Count “thread”.  I purchased fishing line from Walmart. According to the stitchers on Facebook, fishing line seems to be a suitable replacement.  I chose the darkest colour I could find, which was still pretty light.  Next time, I may check Canadian Tire.  I’m hoping they have a larger selection.

Gridding is quite the process.  After just short of one hour, I managed to complete one line and start the second line.  Mind you, I played Candy Crush in between.  I probably would have had two complete lines if I wasn’t distracted.  Also, I think the thread count is contributing to my slow down.  The holes are teeny, and I have to make sure I count correctly.

Grid with fishing line.

Grid with fishing line on 28-count Lugana.

I have decided to keep this gridding project in my cabinet at work, so I’m not tempted to set my cross stitching projects aside at home.  This weekend, I’ll continue working on Poppy. I’m still waiting for my beads, so it doesn’t look like I’ll be finishing Evening Primrose just yet.

Also, this weekend is IHSW. I would love to get a lot of stitching done, so I can show a large chunk of progress on Monday.

What will you be working on?

6 thoughts on “Gridding

    • Hi Tammy. This is my first time gridding. I decided to try it this time around because this will be my fourth go at this chart. You can use thread, however. The majority of stitchers use thread, but using fishing line is much easier to remove as it slides out seamlessly. Depending on how tight your stitches are, regular thread might distort the stitches slightly when pulled out. I don’t want to risk that.

Leave a Reply

