Holly

Holly by Nora Corbett (Mirabilia)

Holly

Holly
Artwork by Nora Corbett
Design by Mirabilia

Another finish for 2013.  Just in time for Christmas!  I’m very happy with Holly.  I love how she turned out, and she was fun to stitch.

UPDATE:  I forgot to mention that I made her skin colour all one colour as my daughter doesn’t like the way it looks when the skin is shaded.  That’s the only change I’ve made to this pattern.

Holly finished design

Holly finished design

Angled view of beads on hair

Angled view of beads on hair

Close of upper body and head

Close of upper body and head

View of upper body and wings

View of upper body and wings

Angled view of beads on hair and wings

Angled view of beads on hair and wings

Angled view of wings

Angled view of wings

Close up of dress

Close up of dress

Angled view of beads on wings

Angled view of beads on wings

Close up of stitching

Close up of stitching

Close up of beds on side of dress

Close up of beds on side of dress

Angled view of dress

Angled view of dress

Close up of signature

Close up of signature

Angled view of beads on bottom curls

Angled view of beads on bottom curls

I didn’t mind the beading on this project.  There wasn’t as much as in other projects.   I didn’t get the feeling that I was never going to be done.

I was particularly proud of how I had secured the beads; however, when I ironed the project, I saw that some of the beads were flattened.  How frustrating.  I tried to get them as upright as they originally were, but some of them just wouldn’t stand, and they were starting to loosen up despite being secured with an additional stitch.

I submitted Holly for framing, and the framer said she should be ready for pick up by next Saturday.

I started working on Poppy again.  I removed the wrong beads, and I managed to re-stitch the beads on the upper half.  For the remainder of the week, I will be securing the beads on the bottom half.  Hopefully, I’ll have another finish on my hands by the end of the week.  If I’m lucky, I’ll have my fairy wall completed, and I’ll be ready to start a new project during the Christmas holidays.

UPDATE 2:  SON OF A BLEEP!  UGH.  I just noticed something major.  How did I ever miss it?  WAH.  I wanna cry.  My project is in for framing!

2 thoughts on “Holly

  1. I can’t believe how fast you are! You’ve done Holly in the time I’ve been fussing wtih Tigerlily’s skirt! Send some of that magic this way! Yours are simply beautiful – all of them.

Leave a Reply

