Dark Wings Progress No. 1

Fuh, fuh, fuh, FINALLY!  I have finally started this project.  Sadly, I’ve had too many starts on it.  I’m surprised I haven’t given up on it yet.  You can read about that here and here

In my last post regarding Dark Wings, I boasted about how I found the best fabric for her.  So proud of my choice, I was.  Ha ha!  Well, I attempted to grid it.  I did manage to make a dent in the gridding, but it took WAY TOO LONG.  I could not see the end anywhere near.  So, I gave up on that.  I also gave in and bought a piece of 25-ct magic guide fabric (white), and that is what I’m working on.

To be honest, I was dreading all the confetti stitching, but it hasn’t been that bad…yet.  Also, I thought I would work on this project as most stitchers stitch HEAD projects, i.e. row by row, or line by line, block by block.  That didn’t happen.  I stuck to what I was familiar with (stitching blocks of the same colour) as much as possible and moving in all directions around my stitched areas.  Seems to be working well.  I will however, complete a page before I move onto the next.

So in four days, here’s what I managed to do.  Well, let’s say three days, because I only stitched for about ten minutes the first day.

I started the pattern at the top left corner.  The stitched part you see is the shadow underneath the left wing.  I’m happy with what I have so far.  Can’t wait to see her grow.

One thought on “Dark Wings Progress No. 1

Leave a Reply

