Mystery Gift Progress No. 1

I’ve started my next project!  I had to set aside Dark Wings YET AGAIN!  I’ll post about that tomorrow.

Rather than wallow in pity about the error, I decided to start a new project. This project will remain a mystery project, because it’s being gifted to a friend.  I checked my subscription feed and email subscriber list, and I didn’t see her on it, so I think I’m okay with posting this here.

My project can be figured out easily enough with Google, but I’ll take that risk.  If any of you happen to figure it out, please don’t comment the design name anywhere (just in case).

So, on to the project.  I’ve made great progress with it, and I’m happy with the progression.  I did have to put it down for a couple of days due to a death in the family (my uncle passed away from liver failure).  I did pick it back up yesterday evening.  I’m taking this week off from the gym for a much-needed rest, and the plan is to quietly stitch away every evening, except for Thursday.  I’ll be at the Ed Sheeran concert that night. 🙂

So far, the project is not that colourful.  The majority of the stitching is done with B5200 (bright white).  The design called for white, but I opted for the brighter white so it could “pop” against the fabric.  Also, for some reason, I just don’t like stitching with white.  I believe it has to do with the way the thread lies.  I don’t know.  For some reason, I find that my stitches are uglier when I stitch with white thread.  Does anyone else feel this way?  Maybe it’s just me.

For my white stitches, I’ve railroaded the top stitches to keep it as clean as I possibly can.  I can’t wait to move on to some coloured floss.  Here’s what I have so far:

The fabric colour is more true in photos 1, 3, 4, and 5.  It’s truer to grey vs. the blue reflected in the Day 2 picture.  I don’t know what happened there or why it’s so different from the others, other than I must have taken the picture in completely different lighting.

Speaking of fabric, I just adore the fabric I’m using.  In fact, I love it so much, I was very tempted to keep it for myself and not give it away.  It’s a piece of fabric from Hand Dyed Fabrics by Stephanie.  The colour is called Storm and it’s a 28-ct piece of Jobelan.  I will definitely be ordering this again for something.  I used it for my Lyrical project and loved it then too.

2 thoughts on “Mystery Gift Progress No. 1

Leave a Reply

