February 2015 IHSW

It’s been a while since I’ve posted one of these.  This is my ninth edition of the International Hermit and Stitch Weekend.  To get the full ISHW details, click here.

“HERMIE”
Line Art by Heidi Brass
Color Art by Andi Whitmer

This weekend’s weather was, once again, horrendous.  Cold, snowy, and miserable.  I did not leave my house all weekend, which allowed for a lot of stitching time.  I managed to stitch the remainder of her head (all I had done previously was the dark brown lower portion of hair). This took me four hours on Friday night and another hour on Saturday to finish up:

February 2015 IHSW

February 2015 IHSW

The little holes will be filled in with beads once the stitching is complete.

Most of Saturday’s stitching session was spent filling in the confetti stitches here and there. I also filled in as many unfinished sections as possible.  Somewhere along the line, I tried to fix a stitch that was bothering me.  I didn’t like how it was sitting, so I attempted to pull it out.  Bad idea.  As you know, one stitch is related to the next, and the next, etc., etc.  I ended up removing a whole section of her sash and re-stitching it again.

Most of Sunday’s session was spent back stitching.  I also stitched the wand, the glow around the wand, and the glow around the wings.

February 2015

February 2015 IHSW

I am very happy with the amount of progress I made this weekend.  I only have six more roses and some leaves to stitch, and I’ll be ready for beading.  I am so relieved.  I feel like there is an end in sight.

This weekend, I attempted to stitch with a stand for the first time. I put the project in a q-snap and attached it to the frame.  I loved the tension in the fabric, and the stitching process wasn’t too bad.  I didn’t like the process of beginning and finishing the threads.  It was too time consuming.  Using a hoop in hand is much faster for me.  What do you guys think?  Is there a faster way other than flipping the section of stand, moving the extra (hanging) fabric aside, finding your place, securing the thread, and flipping the stand back over to the other side?

I’m already thinking about my next project.  I have Winter White Santa ready to go, but I don’t know if I’m ready to begin another large project. I will most likely stitch up a Gorjuss project that my sister asked me to stitch for my niece.  Maybe I’ll work on that during my lunch hour and work on the santa in the evenings at home.  I’m getting far ahead of myself here.  I still have to get through all the beading on the mystery gift!

8 thoughts on “February 2015 IHSW

  1. She’s looking lovely 🙂

    I stitch with a frame similar to a q-snap and have made a cover which protects the fabric and holds all the excess out of the way. I use a loop start when stitching with two strands, which is done from the front. For finishing, I generally just pull the thread out to the front and flip it to finish those off once I have several to do. All that means more time stitching and less fiddling about 🙂

  2. She looks great! Well done on your weekend progress :o)
    Sounds like you did have a bit of frustrating stitching session at times though!
    I love Carole’s idea above as I also find starting and finishing when using a stand a rather large pain in the you know where…. so I tend not to use a stand anymore! Plus I love my q-snaps and they don’t really seem to fit on my scroll stand….
    Hugs xx

    • Stitching Noni, I have tried using a q-snap, but I find I can’t hold it in my hand for very long. It seems to cramp my hand in between my thumb and first finger. I don’t mind my little hoop, which is what I use 97% of the time, but I enjoy the tension the q-snap gives and the large space in which to stitch. I will try my next smaller project in the q-snap and see if I can get my hand used to holding it for longer periods of time.

Leave a Reply

