Ballerina Birth Announcement (Update)

I’ve been away from my blog for a bit, because work has been super busy.  Normally, I would take a few minutes out of my day to provide an update, but I just haven’t had a chance.

While I’ve been away, I’ve managed to keep up with my stitching during the evenings and weekends.  I’ve made great progress on Remembrance.  I’ve also been working on my Santa during my lunch breaks, and I’ve made progress filling in the confetti and miscellaneous stitches.

I’m most proud to report that I framed the ballerina birth announcement, and I am so happy with how it came out. Seriously. I want one of these for myself.  I had a budget of $125 for the framing.  I went to Michael’s and their pricing was ridiculous. It’s been YEARS since I’ve framed anything at Michael’s.  I think I’ve been away way too long, because I was floored at the “basic” price I was quoted of $179. This did not even include a nice frame (and included regular glass only, no mats, and labour).  The frames are now colour coded and depending on what you choose, the cost goes up accordingly.  Yeah, I don’t think so.  I’ll head over to my trusty framer.   It was definitely worth the trip.  He was able to work with me, and in total, I spent $126 and change.  This included the frame, double mats, non-glare glass, and labour.  He gave me the spacer for free.

Without further ado, here is the finished piece.

Ballerina Birth Announcement finished, framed design

Ballerina Birth Announcement finished, framed design

My cousin hasn’t seen it yet.  The plan is to deliver it to her mom’s house, which is just around the corner from my work (I will drop it off there).  She can then pick it up from there or my aunt can drop it off at her place (the drive to her place would be just over an hour).

I hope she likes it.  The beauty of this project is that I can always add more ballerinas in smaller projects and have them hung around this larger piece if she wants.  I have so many ballerina patterns to choose from.

 

6 thoughts on “Ballerina Birth Announcement (Update)

  1. Beautiful stitching and the framing looks wonderful. I agree, Michaels’ framing is ridiculous. They are the ones that drove me to invest in a mat cutter and learn to do my own framing.

Leave a Reply

